Skip links and keyboard navigation

19 November 2018: Grants to support bus driver safety

20 November 2018

Queensland’s urban bus operators can now apply for funding to support the safety of their drivers.

Under the Queensland Bus Driver Safety Scheme, operators can apply for 50-50 funding for driver barriers and 100 per cent funding for anti-shatter film.

Transport and Main Roads Minister Mark Bailey said the grants scheme was part of a five-point bus driver safety plan announced in June.

Mr Bailey said the Palaszczuk Government was committed to working with bus operators, police, transport unions and the public to improve bus driver safety

“Our drivers do a tremendous job transporting thousands of commuters across the state every day and we want them to feel safe when they come to work,” Mr Bailey said.

“Any act of violence against bus drivers or anyone travelling on that network is unacceptable.

“We met with bus drivers and transport workers earlier this year through the Bus Safety Forum and I look forward to continuing those conversations as these measures roll out.

“These grants are open to Queensland bus operators that currently provide urban bus services under contract to the Department of Transport and Main Roads.”

The funding package will see $3.93 million allocated for driver safety barriers in high risk areas and $1.54 million for anti-shatter film.

Applications for barrier funding must be accompanied by evidence of work-force consultation and a risk analysis.

The scheme will be administered by the Queensland Rural and Industry Development Authority (QRIDA).

Applications close 31 March 2019 and operators who are successful in in securing funding will have until 30 June 2020 to install the safety barriers and anti-shatter film.

For more information on the Queensland Bus Driver Safety Scheme, visit the QRIDA website.

Media Contact: Toby Walker - 0439 347 875

This media statement was issued by the Minister for Transport and Main Roads, the Honourable Mark Bailey.

Last updated
20 November 2018