Skip links and keyboard navigation

Natural Disaster Recovery Grants Scheme - Exceptional Circumstances - Primary producer

If your primary production enterprise suffered direct damage caused by Severe Tropical Cyclone Debbie and associated rainfall and flooding, 28 March – 6 April 2017 or Central Coast Queensland Severe Weather 16 - 19 October 2017, grants are available from QRIDA to assist your enterprise pay for costs of clean-up and reinstatement.

What assistance is available?

An Exceptional Circumstances Grant up to a maximum of $25,000 is available to assist eligible primary producers as follows:

  • Initial grant amounts to assist you with cleaning and reinstatement costs - up to a total of $5,000; and
  • Subsequent grant amounts to assist you with additional cleaning and reinstatement costs - up to a total of $20,000

Please note that claims over $5,000 or claims for subsequent grant amounts must be supported by evidence of payment of these costs, including the amount claimed under the initial grant – for more information see the scheme guidelines.

How can the assistance help you?

The assistance enables you to pay for costs associated with cleaning and reinstatement activities.

Examples of eligible activities:

  • purchasing, hiring or leasing equipment or materials to; clean premises, property or equipment or to immediately resume farming activities
  • removing and disposing of debris, damaged goods, materials including injured or dead livestock
  • repairing or replacing fencing on the property
  • purchasing fodder or salvaging crops or feed for stock
  • repairing or reconditioning essential plant or equipment
  • maintaining the health of livestock or poultry
  • paying additional wages to an employee to assist with clean-up work

Assistance under this scheme is not intended to compensate for loss of income suffered as a result of the disaster event and assistance provided is subject to future audit.

Eligible Local Government Areas:

To apply for assistance you must own a primary production enterprise located in one of the following local government areas (current as at 23/11/2017):

Central Coast Queensland Severe Weather, 16 - 19 October 2017.

Bundaberg Regional Council2
North Burnett Regional Council1

1. Activation is limited to the northern portion of North Burnett Regional Council that is:
- east of the Cania Gorge National Park including the Cania locality and east of the Coominglah Forest. The boundary follows the eastern boundary of the Glenleigh and Abercorn localities until the Abercorn locality boundary meets the Burnett Highway. This is just southeast of where Three Moon Creek meets the Burnett River. Included is the area east of the Burnett Highway from this point until the intersection of the Burnett Highway and Kerwee Road at Ceratodus and follows Kerwee Road through Nour Nour National Park until it meets Monto Mount Perry Road. The area included is that west of Monto Mount Perry Road until it meets the boundary of the Yarrol locality, south of Bania Forest Reserve. The eastern boundary is that of the Yarrol locality until it meets the North Burnett local government boundary. This area includes the Bancroft, Bukali, Kalpowar, Monal, Moonford, Cania, Yarrol, Abercorn, Langley, Kapaldo, Tellebang, Glenleigh, Selene, Mulgildie, Splinter Creek, Ventnor, Three Moon, Cannindah, Monto and Mungungo localities within the North Burnett local government area. It includes partial areas of the Mungy, Cynthia, Ceratodus and Eidsvold East localities as described above

2. Activation is limited to the northern part of the Bundaberg Regional Council area including the area east of the Bruce Highway until the Bruce Highway meets the Burnett River. The southern boundary includes the section of the Burnett River between the Bruce Highway and Cedars Road, and includes the section of Cedars Road between the Burnett River and the intersection of Cedars Road and Childers Road at the Elliott River State Forest boundary. The southern part includes the area to the north of the northern Elliott River State Forest and Bingera National Park boundary and includes the section of Burrum Coast National Park that is north of Woppis Road. This is the Statistical Area Level 2 (SA2) areas: Bargara-Burnett Heads, Branyan-Kensington, Bundaberg East-Kalkie, Bundaberg North-Gooburrum, Bundaberg Region-North, Bundaberg South, Svensson Heights-Norville, Walkervale-Avenell Heights.

For further clarification of these areas please view the Bundaberg disaster declared areas map or the North Burnett disaster declared areas map.

Severe Tropical Cyclone Debbie and associated rainfall and flooding, 28 March - 6 April 2017.

Central Highlands Regional Council 5
Part of Gold Coast City Council 3
Part of Isaac Regional Council 1
Lockyer Valley Regional Council 6
Logan City Council
Part of Livingstone Shire Council 2
Mackay Regional Council
Scenic Rim Regional Council
Whitsunday Regional Council
Part of Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council 4

1. Activation is limited to the portion of Isaac Regional Council that is:
- east of the Fitzroy Development Road to the Peak Downs Highway, and north and east of a boundary consisting of the Peak Downs Highway, the Suttor Development Road; and the Collinsville Elphinstone Road
2. Activation is limited to the portion of Livingstone Shire Council that is:
- is to the north and west of the  Apis Creek Road, the Marlborough Road, Glenprairie Road and west of the North Coast Rail Line

3. Activation is limited to the portion of Gold Coast City Council that is:

- within or adjacent to the Albert River Catchment These are analogous to the SA2 ABS regions of Jacobs Well – Alberton, Ormeau – Yatala, Kingsholme – Upper Coomera, Pimpama – Coomera, Oxenford – Maudsland, and Nerang and those parts of Guanaba – Springbrook north from the shire boundary along the SA1 boundary and then east, bordering along the Lower Beechmont Conservation Area.
4.  Activation is limited to the portion of IWoorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council that is:
- north of the Capricorn Highway
5 Activation is limited to the portion that is east of the Fitzroy Developmental Road and north of the Capricorn Highway

6 Activation is limited to the southern section linking to Scenic Rim Regional Council, this incorporates areas south of the Gatton – Clifton road, the Gatton – Helidon road, the Gatton – Laidley road, and the Rosewood – Laidley road (buffer zone)

For further clarification of these declared areas, please view the maps below:

Natural Disaster Recovery Grants are subject to terms and conditions which are detailed in Scheme Guidelines.  Please view the Guidelines for detailed information regarding eligibility criteria, eligible activities for which the grant can be used and how to apply.

Please also refer to the ‘Frequently Asked Questions

Should you have any queries our Regional Area Managers are available to assist you, or please phone on Freecall 1800 623 946 or email QRIDA at:

Last updated
23 November 2017